1st-Time Portland DUII Penalties (Multnomah County)
Portland, Oregon DUI Information – 1st time conviction penalties for Multnomah DUII.
If you are not eligible for Oregon’s DUII Diversion program, you will have to decide whether to fight the DUII charge, or whether to take a plea. An attorney can review your case with you and help you decide on the best course of action.
In Multnomah County – the greater Portland area – there is a standardized plea offer for first-time DUII convictions. This offer can keep you out of jail, and can often save you substantial fines. It works like this:
You enter a plea of Guilty or No Contest. You are not sentenced at that time; sentencing is set out 60 days. In that 60 days, you must complete the following:
Complete your alcohol/drug assessment (not treatment, just the initial assessment)
Complete the Victim Impact Panel
Complete 25 hours of community service
If you do this successfully, then upon your return, you will be told to do an additional 55 hours of community service (in addition to complying with your treatment). You will not do any jail time. Additionally, Multnomah County Judges will often waive a substantial portion of your fines if you complete these requirements. You will be on probation for 24 months and must continue to follow your treatment and the orders of the court.
That is the “carrot.” The “stick” is that, at that 60-day hearing, if you have failed to comply, then you go to jail for 30 days. No excuses. No exceptions. Once you get out, you will still be on probation and will still have to complete all required treatment. In addition, the court will often refuse to waive any any of your fines.
This arrangement is currently only available for 1st-time DUII convictions in Multnomah County, Oregon.
For further information on Multnomah County DUIs in Portland, contact a lawyer as soon as possible.