Penalties for 3rd-Time and Felony DUII Convictions
If you are facing your 3rd DUII conviction in Oregon, then this could be either a misdemeanor or a felony. If it is your 3rd lifetime conviction and you have only one DUII conviction in the past 10 years, then this will be a misdemeanor. Typical jail penalties range from 30-180 days in jail, along with the above-mentioned fines, fees, classes, and treatment. In addition, you will be on probation for a minimum of 36 months, and a maximum of 60 months.
If you have two prior DUII convictions in the past 10 years, then Oregon law declares that this new DUII charge will be a Felony DUII. In these cases, the state prosecutor frequently asks for a minimum prison sentence of at least 13 months. Judges almost always follow this recommendation. No matter what, the very lightest sentence possible is 90 days in jail, with no good time, work time, etc. If you have been previously convicted of a felony DUI prior to your current charge, then you face substantial prison time. Felony DUI charges are exceptionally serious. If you face a Felony DUI charge in Oregon, it is highly recommended that you speak to an attorney immediately.